Skate 62nd National Championship - Toronto, NSW - Fri 28Dec18 thru Fri 04Jan19

Date: March 2018 Source: Ray Simpson


Initial details now available for the 62nd Skate National Championship to be hosted on Lake Macquarie, NSW by Toronto Amateur Sailing Club.

Provisional Race Schedule
Fri 28 Dec: Heat 1
Sat 29 Dec: Heat 2
Sun 30 Dec: Lay Day
Mon 31 Dec: Heats 3 & 4 (back to back)
Tue 01 Jan: Lay Day - Skippers vs Crews Lawn Bowls
Wed 02 Jan: Heat 5
Thu 03 Jan: Heat 6
Fri 04 Jan: Heat 7 / Presentation Night

Skate 61st National Championship - Busselton, WA - Thurs 28 Dec 2017 thru Fri 05 Jan 2018

Date: January 2018 Source: Tegan Scott & Emma Sills


Popular Skate Legends Silvio Fico and Mick Minutillo of Western Australia are the 61st Skate National Champions. Racing their equally legendary Skate - 937 Gobstopper, the longtime skipper and crew combo were podium finishers in all seven Heats with one x win, five x 2nd places and one 3rd place.

Runners-up by one point were Ken Davies and Lachlan Schroder of NSW on 969 - Natural Juices II. Brett Andrews and Laurie Parsons of WA on 986 - Getting Your End Wet rounded out the top rhree.

Paul Shiner and Paul Annesbury of WA on 978 - Magasaurarse, took home the Handicap series trophy, while NSW legends Norm Ryan and Kevin Williams took home the Veterans Trophy.

Details of all prizewinners plus more stories and photos from the titles can be found here.

It is expected the Skates will return to Lake Macquarie, NSW, for the 62nd Skate National Championship.

2016-17 Season Club and State Results

Date: July 2017 Source: Greg Halliday


St George, NSW
Club Champion: 981 Any Which Way - D Luck, D Vlotman/D Crawford
Season Pointscore: 954 Grey Ghost - K Sinton, C Sinton

NSW State Championship
State Champion: 957 Never Give N Inch (StGSC) - J Grant, G Crichton
Season Pointscore: 977 Take It Easy (StGSC) - M Winney, E Sills

WA State Championship
State Champion: 978 Megasaurarse (EFYC) - P Shiner, J Bessen/P Anesbury
Season Pointscore: 937 Gobstopper (EFYC)- S Fico, M Minutillo

Full Details

Skate 60th National Championship Results - Ceduna, SA - 29Dec16 thru 06Jan17

Date: January 2017 Source: Greg Halliday


Father and son team Brett and Cameron Fannon of Western Australia are the winners of the 60th Skate National Championship, on their beautifully prepared and maintained Skate 949 - Tasty Fish. The win is Brett's third, and Cameron's second, and their second championship win together following on from their previous win in the 58th National Championship at Rockingham, WA.
The Skates returned to the waters of Murat Bay, Ceduna after a 19 year break and the series was contested by 11 boats from St George and Toronto, NSW, and East Fremantle WA.
Details of all prizewinners plus more stories and photos from the titles can be found here.

Welcome!Thanks for visiting!

This is a site for everyone interested in sailing, supporting, or otherwise getting involved with the 14 foot Skate class, a proud 60 year tradition across three states in Australia. You'll also find us on Facebook - search on "Skate Sailing" or follow the link on this page.

Please contact us if you have photographs, newspaper clippings, Skate titles programs or other memorabilia.

Contact Us We'd love to hear from you!


Click here to receive an email when the site is updated

Website Coordinator - Greg Halliday